La Piscine OST (LP+7")

La Piscine OST (LP+7")

Michel Legrand
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.




Wewantsounds is delighted to reissue one of Michel Legrand's best soundtracks composed for the French thriller "La Piscine" (The Swiming Pool), released in 1969 and featuring Alain Delon and Romy Schneider. Legrand penned the score straight after "The Thomas Crown Affair" OST and it features the same ultra cool mix of memorable themes, slick jazzy instrumentals and funky pop songs. The full soundtrack was only released in Japan and France and is now very rare. Three bonus tracks that have never been released on vinyl have been added, all newly remastered and housed in a deluxe gatefold sleeve designed by Eric Adrian Lee with new liner notes by Jeremy Allen. As a RSD Bonus we’ve also included Legrand’s ultra rare funky 7”OST of “Un Homme Est Mort" from 1972 in its original artwork.

When 'La Piscine' was was released in France in 1969, it created a stir and became an instant classic. Starring the sexy duet of Alain Delon and Romy Schneider, it had all the ingredient for a smash hit: stunning actors, a great story of jealousy and sexual tension and the magical sun-drenched setting of the French Riviera. All you needed was a soundtrack to match and Deray turned to Michel Legrand who had struck gold with "The Umbrella Of Cherbourg” and "The Thomas Crown Affair".

For “La Piscine”, Legrand came up with the same magic: a great theme which he declined in several jazzy and groovy variations to match the moods and tensions of the film. For the "Main Theme" and "De Souvenirs En Regrets" Legrand invited his sister Christiane, also a gifted singer, to scat with him and mirror the Delon-Schneider couple on screen. Also invited was French violin ace Stephane Grappelli who play on several queues. To spice up the score and reflect the party mood of late 60s Cote D'Azur, Legrand added a pinch of groove with "Dans La Soiree" and two funky pop songs penned by Marilyn and Alan Bergman, the jerky "Run, Brother Rabbit, Run" sung by Delaney Bramlett (who was starting Delaney & Bonnie) and the superb mid-tempo "Ask Yourself Why" sung by Sally Stevens.

This reissue of "La Piscine" is accompanied by three bonus tracks, the original queue for the opening credit plus two superb variations in the form of "Chassé Croisé" featuring Eddy Louiss' Hammond Organ and the languid "Une Enquete" featuring Grappelli. For RSD the release is augmented with the super rare and funky 7" of another Legrand-Deray collaboration from 1972 for the film "Un Homme Est Mort.” The soundtrack only came out in France as a single at the time which has become a highly sought-after nugget on the jazz funk digging scene and is reissued here in its original artwork. All in all, this is pure undiluted Michel Legrand from his best period which Wewantsounds is happy to present with remastered audio and deluxe presentation.


A1. La Piscine (Thème Principal)
A2. Piège À Reflets
A3. Dans La Soirée
A4. Une Enquête
A5. De Souvenirs En Regrets

B1. Run, Brother Rabbit, Run
B2. Blues Pour Romy
B3. Chassé-croisé
B4. Ask Yourself Why
B5. Suspicion
B6. Fugue Criminelle
B7. La Piscine (Générique)

C1. Un Homme Est Mort

D1. Onyx