The Sylvers II (LP)

The Sylvers II (LP)

The Sylvers
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.




This is a masterpiece. And we mean it. Beautiful, golden-era soul written by Leon Sylvers III, produced by Jerry Butler and Keg Johnson.

The Sylvers were a family from Los Angeles who were very successful during the 70’s and into the early 80’s, with chart hits – deep into pop-disco territory by then! – including ‘Boogie Fever’, ‘Hot Line’ and ‘High School Dance’.

This is the groups second album, from 1973, and is one of their strongest. Opening with the awesome mid-tempo ‘We Can Make It If We Try’ the record moves through funk, boogie and deep soul moods, finishing on a hazy, acapella version of The Beatles ‘Yesterday’.

The Sylvers always provide a goldmine of samples. This album has been flipped by Madlib (for MF DOOM), Homeboy Sandman, 50 Cent, Ghostface Killah, Black Milk, Roc Marciano, David Banner & 9th Wonder and more.

Official Mr Bongo reissue. Replica original artwork. Licensed from Pride Inc. 2006.


A1. We Can Make It If We Try
A2. Through The Love In My Heart
A3. Handle It
A4. I’ll Never Let You Go
A5. Cry Of A Dreamer

B1. Stay Away From Me
B2. I Don't Need To Prove Myself
B3. Let It Be Me
B4. Love Me, Love Me Not
B5. I Remember
B6. Yesterday