Darkland (LP)

Darkland (LP)

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.


Maston’s Darkland is a breezy collection of the material from the Tulips sessions that didn’t make it on to the original LP. Originally a digital-only release for those in the know in the autumn of 2018, after re-issuing Tulips in 2020 it made too much sense for Be With to give Darkland a vinyl release.

As Frank Maston explains: “The response to Tulips has been so passionate over the years that it’s nice to be able to offer another piece of that world. And for me personally it’s amazing to have more of my work out there in the world. Most common bit of feedback was that many of these songs should have been on Tulips. The odd friend says it’s much better than Tulips.”

Just like Tulips before it, Simon Francis’s vinyl mastering for Darkland has been cut at 45rpm so you can trip out to this as well at a woozy 33 1/3. The artwork too has been designed by Frank himself as a literal visual continuation of the Tulips cover.

We couldn’t possibly say whether Darkland is better than Tulips, and luckily we don’t have to decide.


A1. Darkland
A2. Tulips
A3. Immaculate Conception
A4. Love Theme Nº 3
A5. The Owl In Daylight
A6. Innovative Patterns
A7. Osiris
A8. Groove Experiment Nº 3

B1. Raincloud
B2. Phonic
B3. Love Theme Nº 2
B4. Italian Summer
B5. Endless
B6. Wonder Theme
B7. Willow