Out There (2LP)

Out There (2LP)

The Heliocentrics
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.


Good luck trying to categorize this album. Led by the relentless drummer Malcolm Catto, the UK collective’s objective lays quite a ways beyond what ordinary listeners know or expect. In an alternative galaxy, where the orbits of Hip-Hop, Funk, Jazz, Psychedelic, Electronic, Avante-Garde and Ethnic music all revolve around “The One” – that’s where you might find The Heliocentrics.

A listen to a song or two reveals no small influence from the funk universe of James Brown. But there’s also the disorienting asymmetry of Sun Ra’s music. The cinematic scope of Ennio Morricone. The sublime fusion of David Axelrod. But the Heliocentrics’ music isn’t retro. It’s brand new. And it’s timeless. They have well-placed fans in the likes of Madlib (Catto was featured on his Shades of Blue album and on various Yesterdays New Quintet releases) and DJ Shadow (the band backed him on the song “This Time I’m Gonna Do It My Way” from his The Outsider album), who will tell you that this band is really the next shit but that they have the consistency and musicianship that seems to have been lost somewhere in the analog to digital shuffle over the past thirty years.


A1. Intro
A2. Distant Star
A3. Flight 583
A4. Once Upon A Time
A5. Beyond Repair
A6. Sirius B
A7. Untitled

B1. They Are Among Us - Part 1
B2. The Zero Hour
B3. Joyride
B4. The American Empire

C1. Before I Die
C2. Intermission
C3. Age Of The Sun
C4. They Are Among Us - Part 2
C5. Winter Song
C6. A World Of Masks

D1. Sounds Of The East
D2. Somewhere Out There
D3. Second Chance (K2’s Prayer)
D4. Return Journey
D5. Sirius A
D6. Falling To Earth
D7. Outro