The Sisters (LP)

The Sisters (LP)

Weldon Irvine
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.


Keyboardist and composer Weldon Irvine is among the most celebrated Jazz-Funk artists of all time. A longtime bandleader for Nina Simone, he wrote the lyrics for Simone's iconic civil rights anthem "To Be Young, Gifted and Black". Throughout the 1970s, Irvine released a series of seminal albums full of deep, soulful, funky grooves, many of which were later mined for samples. The Sisters is a collection of lost tracks and demos from his late-1970s studio sessions with fellow Jazz-Funk luminary Don Blackman. Featuring the hit single “Morning Sunrise” (later famously sampled on Jay-Z’s “Dear Summer”), the album contains a potent mix of instrumental and vocal tracks that stand up with the best work in Irvine’s impressive catalog.


A1. The Sisters
A2. Nursery Rhyme Song
A3. Think I’ll Stay A While
A4. Misty Dawn
A5. Morning Sunrise

B1. Shopping
B2. It’s Funky
B3. Sexy Eyes
B4. Egypt
B5. Heard It All Before
B6. Blue In Green