The Impossible Kid (2LP)

The Impossible Kid (2LP)

Aesop Rock
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.


Indie-rap mainstay Aesop Rock has announced his new album, The Impossible Kid, dropping April 29th on Rhymesayers Entertainment, marking his first solo venture since 2012’s Skelethon. On the new album, Aesop continues finding new ways to improve on the skills that have made him one of the kings of indie hip-hop. His creative process now includes a newfound willingness to open up about his personal life, going deep on topics like depression, his sometimes rocky relationship with his family, and the turbulent handful of years that culminated in Aesop leaving his adopted home of San Francisco to live in a barn out in the woods, where he recorded the foundations of The Impossible Kid. There’s also moments of levity though, as Aesop taps into the funny side of his persona that he suppressed during the period where being taken as a serious lyricist was more of a priority. Like Skelethon, Aesop exercised complete creative control over every aspect of the album, from the production (which he handled himself, with instrumental help from Philly’s Grimace Federation) to conceptualizing the cover art by his friend Alex Pardee.


A1. Mystery Fish
A2. Rings
A3. Lotta Years
A4. Dorks

B1. Rabies
B2. Supercell
B3. Blood Sandwich
B4. Get Out of the Car

C1. Shrunk
C2. Kirby
C3. Tuff
C4. Lazy Eye

D1. Defender
D2. Water Tower
D3. Molecules