Buhloone Mindstate (LP)

Buhloone Mindstate (LP)

De La Soul
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.


The group's third studio release, Buhloone Mindstate released on September 21, 1993, saw the group evolve into a new sound as they continued to grow stylistically and musically. There were several moments on the album which proved the band had matured. "I Be Blowin'" was a departure as the track was an instrumental featuring saxophone playing by Maceo Parker. The introspective "I Am I Be" showed De La Soul at their most self-referential to date. "Long Island Wildin'" was a collaboration with Japanese hip hop artists Kan Takagi (Major Force) and trio Scha Dara Parr (SDP). The album's first single, "Breakadawn", used a sample of Michael Jackson's "I Can't Help It" and Smokey Robinson's "Quiet Storm". De La Soul collaborated for the first time with Gang Starr's Guru on "Patti Dooke", and female MC Shortie No Mas who was prominent on many tracks on the album and showcased particularly on "In The Woods". The album ended with an old school Biz Markie collaboration called "Stone Age".The album was a critical success with Rolling Stone listing it as one of the best hip hop albums of all time.


1. Intro (Buhloone Mindstate)
2. Eye Patch
3. En Focus (Ft. Dres & Shortie No Mass)
4. Patti Dooke (Ft. Guru)
5. I Be Blowin' (Ft. Maceo Parker)
6. Long Island Wildin' (Ft. 高木完 (Kan Takagi) & スチャダラパー (Scha Dara Parr))
7. Ego Trippin' (Part Two)
8. Paul's Revenge (Ft. Prince Paul)
9. 3 Days Later
10. Area
11. I Am I Be (Ft. Fred Wesley, Maceo Parker & Pee Wee Ellis)
12. In the Woods (Ft. Shortie No Mass)
13. Breakadawn
14. Dave Has a Problem... Seriously
15. Stone Age (Ft. Biz Markie)