Studio One Disco Mix (2LP)

Studio One Disco Mix (2LP)

Various Artists
Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included.


Studio One's music in the 1970s took the label to new heights. The new style of Disco Mix brought many areas of Reggae together ­ Roots, Lovers, Disco and Dub all came together in extended form, re-versioning classic hits, experimenting with new studio technology, over-dubbing, syn-drums and more producing what many fans describe as the most creative and innovative phase in the history of the legendary Studio One Records.

This Studio One Disco Mix album includes many sought after classic tunes only ever released in very small quantities (on Studio One's very first 12" records as well as it's infamous Music Lab 10"s out of New York) and consequently many of these track s have been unavailable since their day of release. Studio One Disco Mix features many of the classic Studio One artists such as Alton Ellis, Sugar Minott, Jackie Mittoo and Willie Williams (with his classic re-versioning of his own "Armigideon Time") alongside less well artists such as Doreen Schaeffer, Judah Eskender Tafari and George Dudley and many more.


1. Lloyd & Devon - Push Push
2. Judah Eskender Tafari - Rastafari Tell You
3. Doreen Schaefer - Ain't Gonna Change My Mind
4. Dub Specialist - Kampala
5. George Allen - Be Wise Brethren
6. Jackie Mittoo - Night In Ethiopia
7. George Dudley - Gates Of Zion
8. The Silvertones - Come Forward
9. The Ethiopian - Muddy Water
10. Willie Williams & Brentford Disco Set - Armagideon Time
11. Willie Williams & Brentford Disco Set - Armagideon Time (Version)
12. Norma White & Brentford Disco Set - I Want Your Love
13. Norma White & Brentford Disco Set - I Want Your Love (version)
14. Alton Ellis - You Make Me Happy
15. Sugar Minott - Love And Understanding